The Road and What Lies Ahead #sol #sliceoflife

I’m reaching the end of my student teaching and I’m looking ahead to my future. I’m spending a lot more time on the road going to job interviews, my parents’ home in South Dakota, and my humble little dorm in Nebraska. No, I’m not going to go into some metaphorical tale-spin about the symbolism of roads. I’m moving at turbulence towards the boundless bounds. I got a lot of ideas and desires manifesting all the time, and I wonder how I’ll nurture and satiate all of them.

20170316_105551(0)
I got to see Chimney Rock on one trip. Backyard tourism for the win.

The road to this point has been grueling and arduous. I’ve spent five years of my life chasing this degree, and I just about have it. Yeah, there’s been a few potholes, detours, and blockades, but I’ve managed and gotten through all of it. At times, there’s something anticlimatic about all of this, like the challenge was all in my mind and what seemed inconceivable to me is, ironically, attained by millions of people every year, every December and May. Sometimes, it does feel like I mastered something esoteric and mysterious that no one else ever has and I want to let the whole world know about this achievement. Call it a checkmate, call it a checkpoint. It is what it is.

I spend a lot of time in Rapid City, SD these days and meander off the highways and into the city. I tour the mall of my lost teenage years and think, “If only Scheels was still here.” I went to First Stop Gun and asked if they had any Ruger Single-Six revolvers in stock. I was told no. I clearly can’t purchase my thirteenth birthday gift any longer. I go to the Clock Tower Lounge and keep to myself and my bar stool; just keep the tacos and Coors Light coming.

Before I know it, I’m back on the road again. I can’t stay parked forever.

One thought on “The Road and What Lies Ahead #sol #sliceoflife

Add yours

  1. They say that if it was easy (the “it” being anything in life), then everyone would do it. The same goes for getting your degree. If it was easy, then everyone would have a degree. But everyone doesn’t. Which makes it even more important for you to celebrate this achievement in your life! Though I’m sure the journey has been long and arduous, the payoff is so worth it. Nothing has ever fulfilled me like knowing I accomplished getting my degree and I know it will be the same for you. Congratulations and good luck in your interviews! And thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

