It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 4/3/17

I’m into my final weeks of student teaching. There’s a lot of mixed emotions: relief of it all being over, grief over leaving, and uncertainty about the future. All of that being said, I take it one day at a time and enjoy my craft. This week, I was listening to Where White Men Fear to Tread: The Autobiography of Russell Means. The narration is a remaster of the original 1996 recording. He is a rich, lively narrator matched only by Frank McCourt, if you ask me.

51b-oACDpfL._SL300_

My parents grew up on the Pine Ridge Reservation, living there from the 1950s as children to the early years of their marriage in the mid-1980s. They tell me stories sometimes about the turbulent, terrifying 1970s: The Sioux Revolution. Mom knew him as a silent, bellicose bank customer. Dad sees him as a colorful character of his youth. I’ll wonder what I’ll think of him in three hours of listening left.

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 4/3/17

Add yours

  1. Hope you enjoy Where White Men Fear to Tread since you are so interested in the The Sioux Revolution! and good luck in your final weeks of student teaching!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

