It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/20/17 #imwayr

This week, I got to spend more hours than I cared to traveling between Belle Fourche, SD Chadron, NE and Alliance, NE. That being said, I knocked out The 42nd Parallel by John Dos Passos and began listening to Mario Puzo’s The Godfather. I’m only half an hour into it and I feel entrenched in a soap opera.

the-godfather

The detail of interactions and hierarchy is like that of Chinua Achebe’s Things Fall Apart. There isn’t any room for stereotypes or stock characters. So far, it looks like we have dynamic, interesting characters depicted in a third-person narrative. At fourteen hours long, I’m in for a journey into some misunderstood humanity.

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/20/17 #imwayr

Add yours

  1. WHAT????? SOAP OPERA??? BUT?? UHHH?? OMG I AM SPEECHLESS
    ok.. yes.. maybe a little 🙂

    BUT

    ohhhh THE GOD FATHER! I LOVE THE GODFATHER no wait… I ADORE THE GOD FATHER. No wait… THE GODFATHER IS MY BIBLE. I learned how to adult with the god father. Keep your friends close but your enemies closer. All the wisdom of the universe right there in THAT one quote 😉 I hope you end up liking it 🙂

    Like

    1. There’s something very orchestral about the opening scenes at the wedding that reminded me of the over-dramatized dialogue and action from soap operas my mom watched when I was a child. I’m a fan of the film, but the inner lives of the Corleone family is surreal in print.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

